Sweet Comfort

blog

 

My heart had seriously been hurting when my oldest baby turned 14 this month. The biggest “problem” for me is the realization that there is only 4 very short years standing between us and the days he moves off to college. How in the world will I be able to handle not waking up and having his sweet face to look at, when it’s the first thing I have done for half of my life? Ugghhh, the thought kills my heart………..

“I can understand being a little blue over Bud turning 14. Even tho’ it’s natural and the way things are designed to be, there’s something a little sad about kids growing up and getting ready to fly out on their own. At the same time, you know you’ve done a great job as a parent and given them skills to make a good life, so it’s exciting to see what they’re going to do and who they’re going to  become, you know? It’s just truly bittersweet.

But, when you feel a little sad thinking about him leaving the nest and making his way in the world, remember that there is something a lot sadder. That’s someone who’s too insecure (or lazy) to leave the nest. People like that are just sad, pathetic creatures who never LIVE  life. So, be proud and happy that you’ve raised kids who have the confidence and skills to go out and live a good, positive life and make a splash in the world around them. You’ve done a good job there, mama.” -Lincoln

I’m thankful to have such a strong, loving man by my side in this life. He saves me from myself every day and without him I’d have fallen apart long ago.

Leave a comment